Committee members


Name:   Professor Georges Emile Raymond GRAU

Title:  Chair of Vascular Immunology, Department of Pathology, School of Medical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine & Health

Institute:  The University of Sydney


Professor Georges Grau, MD (University of Liège) and Privat-Docent (University of Genève), is the Chair of Vascular Immunology at the University of Sydney since 2006. His research in immunopathological mechanisms of infectious diseases focuses on cytokines and the microvascular endothelium.

 Working experience: with his team at the Vascular Immunology Unit, he has:

  • analysed the cellular and molecular mechanisms of the interactions between microvascular endothelial cells and cells of the immune system.
  • contributed to the elucidation of cytokine interactions leading to tissue injury, using in vivo intervention studies in various models of pathology, with particular attention to TNF.
  • developed a brain endothelium co-culture system, to study blood-brain barrier changes in cerebral malaria, sepsis, multiple sclerosis, viral encephalitides and cryptococcal meningoencephalitis
  • studied extracellular vesicles, particularly microvesicles and exosomes, released in these co-cultures and shown their role as crucial effectors of cytokine-mediated pathology
  • deciphered critical molecular mechanisms of microvesicle release in inflammatory conditions
  • shown that inhibition of microvesicle release can prevent pathology.

His 372 papers have been cited over 30,000 times and his h-index is over 90. Since 2015 he serves as Discipline Leader (Pathology), Marie Bashir Institute, and in 2017 he was elected President of the Australian-New Zealand Microcirculation Society (ANZMS).

Vice President

Name: Dr Anthony Ashton (

Qualifications: BSc Hons, PhD

Positions: Scientific Director, Division of Perinatal Research (Kolling Institute) & Senior Lecturer, Sydney Medical School (University of Sydney)

Research Interests: My research group focuses on the molecular mechanisms that regulate (lymph)angiogenesis in health and disease. Current studies include differential splicosome assembly and miRNA utilisation, the role of eicosanoids and matrikines proteins (and their receptors) in the angiogenic response.  These studies are being explored across all ages in the lifespan to determine whether in utero programming determines outcomes for diseases with altered endothelial cell reactivity and angiogenic potential (such as coronary heart disease, hypertension, retinopathy, cancer and pre-eclampsia).  We also have active programs in biomarker development and first generation drug identification that intersect with these programmes to provide new therapies for diseases with limited treatment options.


Name: Dr Tim Murphy (

Qualifications: BSc Hons, PhD

Position: Senior Lecturer, Department
of Pharmacology,
University of New South Wales

Research Interests: Autoregulation of blood flow is the ability of tissues to control ‘local’ blood flow in response to changes in systemic blood pressure and the tissue’s metabolic requirements.

Our research focuses on the various theories proposed to explain autoregulation of blood flow; pressure-induced changes in the diameter of arterioles (myogenic mechanisms) and alteration of arteriolar diameter in response to metabolic products (metabolic mechanisms). We are also interested in the effect of metabolic diseases such as obesity and diabetes on small artery function.


Name: Dr Maria Jelinic

Qualifications: BBSc, MSC, PhD

Position: NHMRC & National Heart Foundation Research Fellow, Department of Physiology, Anatomy & Microbiology, School of Life Sciences, La Trobe University

Research Interests: It is estimated that 80-90% of cases of chronic kidney disease are undiagnosed. This is because kidney disease can be largely asymptomatic whereby up to 90% of kidney function is lost before the disease is detected. By this stage, the condition is irreversible with dialysis or kidney transplantation the only viable treatment options. Dr Maria Jelinic hopes to make this a problem of the past. Her research is aimed at developing better therapies and early detection procedures for chronic kidney disease patients. Maria is particularly interested in how the vasculature contributes to the progression of chronic kidney disease in the settings of obesity and diabetes.

Immediate Past President

Name: Dr Marianne Tare (

Qualifications: BSc(Hons) PhD(Monash)

Position:Senior Lecturer, Monash Rural Health and Research Fellow, Department of Physiology, Monash University

Research interests: My research group focuses on the mechanisms that regulate the function of resistance arteries in health and disease. Current studies focus on vascular adaptations to pregnancy and dysfunction in disease (e.g. diabetes, hypertension) and resulting from suboptimal intrauterine/postnatal conditions. Exposure to early life insults can have profound effects on vascular function in the offspring, increasing the risk of cardiovascular disease. We are investigating the mechanisms responsible for vascular and cardiac dysfunction in models of early life insults ranging from nutritional deficiencies through to sustance abuse, and the effects of therapeutic interventions.


Name: Prof Michael Hickey (

Position: NHMRC Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Inflammatory Diseases, Monash University Department of Medicine, Monash Medical Centre.

Research Interests: Dr. Michael Hickey is an NHMRC Senior Research Fellow.  His laboratory examines leukocyte recruitment in inflamed tissues, a process which underlies the pathogenesis of most inflammatory diseases.  His research examines the control of leukocyte-endothelial cell interactions and leukocyte migration in the inflamed microvasculature, using intravital (in vivo) microscopy to examine the functional microvasculature in models of inflammation.

Current diseases examined include contact sensitivity and glomerulonephritis. An additional focus is human endothelial cell biology.


Associate Professor Shaun Sandow (

Associate Professor Michael Perry (

Professor Tailoi Chan-Ling (

Associate Professor Chris Jackson (

Committee Members

Ian Wright (

Shaun Sandow (

Laura Parry (

Early Career Researcher Representatives

Rebecca Dyson

(New Zealand)

Sarah Marshall


Yugeesh Lankadeva


New Zealand & State Representatives

NZ:Lyn Wise
NSW:Anthony Ashton
TAS:Stephen Rattigan
SA:David Wilson
VIC:Michael Hickey
WA:Ruth Ganss
QLD:Shaun Sandow

Past Presidents of the ANZMS

Inaugural – Frederick Colin Courtice

1991 – John Gavin

1995 – Les Schrieber

1997 – Peter Rogers

1999 – Michael Perry

2001 – Tailoi Chan-Ling

2003 – James Brock

2005 – Chris Jackson

2007 – Shaun Sandow

2009 – Michael Hickey

2013 – Marianne Tare

2017 (Current) – Georges Grau